Governance Board Appointed

The Bishops have appointed the governing board for the new combined entity. This board met for the first time in early October.

The members are:
Bishop Paul Martin SM, Bishop of Christchurch
John Gallaher (Interim Chair), Senior Investment Advisor with Forsyth Barr, Dunedin and current member of both The Catholic Institute Council and the Establishment Board
Professor Kate Kearins, Dean of Business, Economics and Law at AUT, Auckland and current member of both the Good Shepherd College Senate and the Establishment Board
Turi Ngatai MNZM, Executive Director Māori for the Open Polytechnic and formerly deputy CEO at Te Wananga o Aotearoa, living in Tauranga
Sandy Pasley, Principal of Baradene College in Auckland and former President of the NZ Secondary Principals Association
Rev Dr Timothy Costello SM, Lecturer in Pastoral Theology and Ministry at Good Shepherd College.

The Bishops wanted to ensure both continuity and change in the membership of the board, along with a good level of expertise in tertiary education and strong engagement with our biggest diocese. Fr Timothy’s appointment is also recognition of the importance of a staff perspective on the governing board.

The Bishops are consulting on the name(s) of the new organisation, following extended discussion at their meeting in September. They want to ensure that the Te Reo Māori component of the name is fully suitable for the purpose it will serve. Once the name is confirmed, it will be communicated  widely to those affected. The new name may be announced in early October.